🏛️

City Traders Imperium

シティ・トレーダーズ・インペリウム(CTI)

A veteran prop firm funding traders since 2018. The official site states it has "paid out for 8 years" to "100,000+ traders across 178 countries." It offers 4 plans — 1-Step Challenge / 2-Step Challenge / Instant Funding / Direct Funding (confirmed with the official site September 27, 2026). The drawdown line is set by your confirmed balance, but the official help center states that you still fail if your balance including floating losses breaches the line — so it's not true that floating losses can't fail you. Only 1-Step officially allows off-the-shelf (third-party) EAs and martingale; the other three plans allow self-built EAs only, and ban martingale.

Trustpilot4.21,630 reviews
Max funding
Up to $400K on the challenge plans (per-account scaling cap $200K); up to $4M on Instant/Direct ($2M per account)
Profit split
100%
Japanese
No
Founded
2018 (official: "Funding Traders Since 2018," "8 years of payouts")

User data

Loading...

All plans

Plans compared

1-Step Challenge

1-step
$29 / $49 / $79 / $159 / $299 / $449. Both off-the-shelf EAs and martingale are allowed, and there's no daily DD. The 5% max DD tracks your highest balance (withdrawals are subtracted when it recalculates)
Profit target
8%
Max DD
5%
Profit split
80% → 100% (VIP)
Leverage
1:30 (funded account)
Account sizes
$2.5K$5K$10K$25K$50K$100K

2-Step Challenge

2-step
$39 / $59 / $99 / $199 / $329 / $549. Static 10% max DD, 5% daily (that day's opening balance minus 5% of the initial balance). 3 profit days required per phase. Self-built EAs only, martingale banned
Profit target
10% / 5%
Max DD
10% / daily 5%
Profit split
80% → 100% (VIP)
Leverage
Not stated officially
Account sizes
$2.5K$5K$10K$25K$50K$100K

Instant Funding

Instant
$79 / $139 / $259 / $449 / $849 / $1,599. Starting balance is 50% of the account size, doubling each time you hit 10% profit. Max DD is a static 6% of the initial balance, no daily limit. Self-built EAs only
Profit target
- (scales every 10%)
Max DD
6%
Profit split
50% (level 1) → 70% (level 2) → 80% (level 3+) → up to 100% at VIP
Leverage
Not stated officially
Account sizes
$2.5K$5K$10K$20K$40K$80K

Direct Funding

Instant
$229 / $399 / $999 / $1,999 / $3,999. Full balance from day one, 70% split. Static 6% max DD, no daily limit. Self-built EAs only
Profit target
- (scales every 10%)
Max DD
6%
Profit split
70% → 80% (level 3+) → up to 100% at VIP
Leverage
Not stated officially
Account sizes
$5K$10K$20K$40K$80K

Pros and cons

+Pros

  • ✓1-Step officially allows off-the-shelf (third-party) EAs and martingale. Very few firms on this site allow both at once
  • ✓1-Step has no daily drawdown. Target 8% ($100K for $449)
  • ✓2-Step's max DD of 10% is static and doesn't move on withdrawal. The 5% daily limit is "that day's opening balance minus 5% of the initial balance"
  • ✓The drawdown line is set from your confirmed balance (floating profit doesn't move it)
  • ✓News trading is allowed with no time restrictions. Weekend and overnight holding are allowed on every plan
  • ✓No time limit on trading. There's no consistency rule on the challenge plans (Instant/Direct only apply a 20% consistency score for scaling)
  • ✓Profit split starts at 80%, rising to 90% at VIP Bronze and 100% at VIP Silver (Direct starts at 70%; Instant starts at 50% at level 1)
  • ✓Rebuying after failing gets a 15% discount, every time
  • ✓Founded in 2018, 8 years in operation. $2.5K starts at $29 for 1-Step, $39 for 2-Step. A free trial with no card required is available
  • ✓Wide range of payment methods: card, Apple/Google Pay, PayPal, crypto, Skrill, NETELLER, bank transfer

-Cons

  • ✗⚠️ You can fail on floating losses too. The homepage advertises "No equity-based drawdown," but the official help center clearly states that while the line's position is set by your confirmed balance, breaching it with a balance that includes floating losses still fails you
  • ✗⚠️ 1-Step's 5% max DD tracks your highest balance. The fail line is (highest balance − your most recent withdrawal) − 5% of the initial balance, so your cushion never grows beyond 5% even as profit builds up
  • ✗⚠️ EA rules differ by plan. 1-Step allows both off-the-shelf EAs and martingale, but 2-Step, Instant and Direct are "Personal EAs only" and ban martingale
  • ✗The first withdrawal requires 7 days of 0.5%+ profit plus net profit of 2% (or $100, whichever is higher). From the 2nd withdrawal on, it's only allowed in the last 5 days of each month (unless cumulative profit hits 10%, which lets you withdraw mid-month; VIP gets weekly or anytime)
  • ✗No refund on the fee. Once you've placed even a single trade, it's non-refundable (refunds only apply if untraded and within 7 days of purchase)
  • ✗You must set a stop loss within 60 seconds of entry (invisible stops don't count, and EAs must place one automatically too)
  • ✗If your trading is judged gambling-like or a one-sided bet, discretionary measures can follow: a 1% cap per trade idea, reduced leverage, or failure
  • ✗Instant Funding starts you at half the account size, with a 50% split at level 1
  • ✗Only 2 platforms: MT5 and Match-Trader. MT4, cTrader and TradeLocker are not supported
  • ✗No Japanese site or Japanese support
  • ✗The entity is registered in the Comoros, with no backing from a regulated broker (a prop-only operation)

Trading rules

!Prohibited

  • ✗[2-Step, Instant, Direct] Using third-party (off-the-shelf) EAs — self-built EAs only
  • ✗[2-Step, Instant, Direct] Martingale
  • ✗[All plans] Trading without a stop loss (a visible SL must be set within 60 seconds of entry)
  • ✗[All plans] One-sided bets and gambling-like trading (oversized lots aimed at hitting the target in a single trade idea, trading down to 150% margin level or below, etc.)
  • ✗* 1-Step allows both off-the-shelf EAs and martingale (the official rules table states "Expert Advisors: Allowed (inc. third-party)" and "Martingale: Allowed")

✓Allowed

[1-Step] EAs of any kind, including off-the-shelf ones, and martingale (explicitly stated in the official rules table)EA / algorithmic trading (all plans; self-built only from 2-Step onward)News trading (no time restriction, all plans)Weekend and overnight holding (all plans)No time limit on tradingRunning EAs on a VPS (up to 2 terminals without prior approval)[1-Step, Instant, Direct] No daily drawdown

Platforms

MT5
Match-Trader

FAQ

Q

Can I use EAs (automated trading)?

Yes, but the conditions differ by plan. 1-Step Challenge lists "Expert Advisors: Allowed (inc. third-party)" and "Martingale: Allowed" — both off-the-shelf EAs and martingale are permitted. 2-Step Challenge, Instant Funding and Direct Funding, on the other hand, are "Personal EAs only" and "Martingale: Not Allowed." On every plan, an EA must place a visible stop loss automatically within 60 seconds of entry. If you're running an off-the-shelf EA, 1-Step is the only option.

Q

If the drawdown is "balance-based," doesn't that mean floating losses can't fail me?

No — you can still fail. The homepage advertises "No equity-based drawdown," but the official help center states that while the line's position is set from your confirmed balance, breaching it with a balance that includes floating losses still fails you. "Balance-based" here just means floating profit doesn't raise the line. Letting floating losses sit can also get flagged as a one-sided bet, which is subject to discretionary action.

Q

How does the drawdown differ between plans?

For 1-Step, it's "5% of the initial balance, tracking your highest balance," with no daily DD. The fail line is (highest balance − your most recent withdrawal) − 5%; withdraw $3,000 at a $104,000 balance and the line becomes $96,000. 2-Step is "10% of the initial balance, static," plus a 5% daily limit (that day's opening balance minus 5% of the initial balance). Instant Funding and Direct Funding are "6% of the initial balance, static," with no daily DD (confirmed in the official help center September 27, 2026).

Q

When can I withdraw?

On 1-Step and 2-Step, you can request your first withdrawal anytime once you have 7 days of 0.5%+ profit and net profit of 2% (or $100, whichever is higher). From the 2nd on, it's only in the last 5 days of each month. On Instant/Direct, the first requires 5 profit days plus 2% net profit, and from the 2nd on it's the 14th, 15th, and last 5 days of each month. On every plan, hitting 10% cumulative profit lets you withdraw mid-month too. VIP Bronze unlocks weekly withdrawals, and Silver unlocks anytime. Review takes up to 2 business days, and wallet transfers take 1 business day.

Q

Is the fee refundable?

No. The refund policy states that once you've placed even one trade, it's non-refundable. If untraded, you can request a refund within 7 days of purchase. Rebuying after a fail gets a 15% discount (Instant/Direct show a discrepancy here — the plan page says 10%, the official help center says 15%).

Q

What does Instant Funding's "half the starting balance" mean?

If you buy a $10K Instant account, you start trading with $5,000 (50% of the account size). Every time you hit 10% profit, the balance doubles, reaching the full $10,000 at level 2. The split is 50% at level 1, 70% at level 2, and 80% from level 3. You can claim the level-1 50% split once you hit the 10% target at level 2. If you want to start with the full balance from day one, that's what Direct Funding is for.

Q

Which plan should I choose?

If you're running an off-the-shelf EA, 1-Step is the only choice ($100K for $449, 8% target, no daily DD, martingale allowed). But since the 5% max DD tracks your highest balance, smaller per-trade risk suits it better. In our own expected-value simulations, if you're risking around 1% per trade, 2-Step ($100K for $549, static 10% max DD) came out with a higher one-year expected value. Direct Funding is pricier at $399 for $10K and starts at a 70% split.

Q

Can I use it from Japan?

The official site's restricted-country list covers North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Russia, and internationally sanctioned individuals — Japan is not on it. That said, there's no Japanese site or Japanese support; support is in English only (live chat, email, Discord). We haven't personally confirmed purchasing from Japan works, so if you're unsure, try a small account first or ask support beforehand.

Q

What's the reputation like?

Trustpilot is 4.2 / 1,630 reviews (as of September 27, 2026, no rating suspension). Its 8 years of continuous payouts since founding in 2018 is the strongest point in its favor.

Visit City Traders Imperium

Bought a challenge? Keep a record

Inactivity reminders, P&L tracking and cloud sync (free, Japanese UI)