🧪 Research

[September 2026] Calculating Bulenox's Expected Value: Every Plan Is Now One-Time Payment. At Zero Edge, End-of-Day Momentum Wins; With an Edge, Qualification Wins

Published: 9/25/2026

※ Prices and rules were confirmed on Bulenox's official site (pricing page, FAQ, help center, and the fee schedule dated August 11, 2026) on September 25, 2026. These figures are Monte Carlo results and do not guarantee future performance.

📢 Advertising/affiliate disclosure: This site does not hold an affiliate link for Bulenox.

TL;DR

  • Bulenox has dropped its monthly subscription model — every plan is now a one-time payment. The official terms state "there's nothing to cancel; it simply ends automatically when the period expires."
  • At zero edge, go with Momentum (end-of-day) $50K ($143, no activation fee after passing). At 0.30 lots, that's +$2,047/year.
  • With "medium" edge, go with Qualification ($175 + $148 on passing). At 0.30 lots, that's +$25,529/year — the best result among Category B firms (self-built automation only).
  • Still falls short of FTMO Futures Pro (+$4,836 at zero edge).
  • Automated trading is self-built tools only. Commercial, shared, rented, or publicly distributed tools are banned; connecting to Rithmic via a third-party API costs an extra $100/month.

Pricing and rules ($50K, measured September 25, 2026)

QualificationMomentum
Price$175 (one-time, valid 30 days)$143 (one-time, valid 30 days)
Reset$78 (doesn't extend the 30-day window)Not disclosed
Activation fee on passing$148 (one-time)None
Evaluation target$3,000$3,000
Max loss$2,500$2,250
Evaluation consistencyNoneNone
Minimum trading daysNoneNone
Max loss after passingLocked at +$100(Not stated. Assumed +$100)
Payout conditionEvery 10 trading days, keeping balance at or above $52,600Every 5 days with $150+ profit, request once balance is $53,000+
Consistency after passing40% (across the whole post-pass period)35% (per payout cycle)
Per-payout amountMinimum $1,000, cap $1,500 (no cap from the 4th payout on)Minimum $1,000, cap $1,500 → $2,000 → $2,500 → $3,000
Split100% up to the first $10,000, then 90%Same as left

Both plans require choosing one of two risk types at purchase, which can't be changed afterward.

  • Trailing type: max loss tracked in real time, including floating profit and fees. No daily loss limit
  • End-of-day type: max loss only moves at end-of-day close, plus a daily loss limit ($1,100 for Qualification, $1,200 for Momentum; hitting it pauses trading for the day — not a fail)

Rules common to both:

  • No overnight carry. Full close by 3:59 PM CT (5:59am / 6:59am JST the next day, summer/winter)
  • Up to 5 accounts after passing
  • Fee is $1.52 round-trip on MGC (per the official fee schedule)
  • Moving to a live account is at the firm's discretion after 3 payouts. Sim account profit doesn't carry over to live
  • Trustpilot 4.7 (1,790 reviews). Japan is not on the restricted-country list

There's also an instant-funding Fast Track plan ($488, no evaluation), but its payout targets and consistency requirements change per cycle in a different way, so it's not included in this comparison.

Automated trading

Here's the original text from the official FAQ:

Bots, algorithms and trade copiers are permitted. If you connect to Rithmic through a third-party API or composite software, an additional $100 per month applies. Only user-built tools intended solely for the account owner's personal use are permitted. Commercial, shared, rented or publicly distributed automation tools are not allowed.

A tool you built yourself, for your own use only, is allowed. Running it through NinjaTrader's or Quantower's built-in features avoids the $100/month fee. We found no rule regarding VPS.

Assumptions

Same as our FTMO Futures expected-value article.

  • One trade per trading day in micro gold (MGC). With a 0.6% stop-loss, a 0.10-lot (1 MGC contract) loss is $262
  • Same lot size for evaluation and post-pass accounts. 1 year (252 trading days)
  • Prices are list price (the discount rate on the standing coupon BULENOX is not confirmed)
  • The 30-day window is treated as 21 trading days; when it expires, we repurchase
  • Since Momentum's reset fee isn't disclosed, a failed account is repurchased
  • For the end-of-day type, we only use lot sizes (up to 0.30) where a single loss fits within the daily loss cap
  • Not counted once moved to a live account

Result 1: annual expected value at a fixed 0.30 lots

SkillQualification (trailing)Qualification (end-of-day)Momentum (trailing)Momentum (end-of-day)
−0.04R−$1,885−$1,326−$1,460+$43
Zero edge−$117 (35%)+$432 (38%)+$382 (43%)+$2,047 (58%)
Small (50% win rate, 1.2 payoff ratio)+$7,618+$8,189+$6,421+$8,370
Medium (55% win rate, 1.2 payoff ratio)+$25,058+$25,529+$18,526+$20,216
Strong (60% win rate, 1.2 payoff ratio)+$45,035+$45,371+$32,208+$33,251

Numbers in parentheses are the probability of finishing positive. "Strong" is a reference figure that's unrealistic for most traders.

  • At zero edge, only Momentum (end-of-day) is clearly positive. Qualification is weighed down by the $148 activation fee on passing and the rule requiring $2,600 of cushion before you can withdraw.
  • With an edge, Qualification comes out ahead. The payout cap disappears from the 4th payout on, and the first $10,000 is at a 100% split, so the more you win, the more it compounds.
  • The end-of-day type beats the trailing type. Because the max-loss line doesn't rise on floating profit, it's less prone to failing.

Result 2: cash flow (0.30 lots)

Annual costAnnual payout receivedEvaluations passedPayouts madePost-pass accounts lost
Momentum (end-of-day), zero edge$3,008$5,0556.23.05.9
Qualification (end-of-day), zero edge$3,439$3,8725.12.24.8
Qualification (end-of-day), medium$1,227$26,7562.89.41.8

Since Qualification only allows a payout once every 10 trading days, at zero edge the account often doesn't survive long enough to reach a payout.

Result 3: the best configuration found

SkillQualification (trailing)Qualification (end-of-day)Momentum (trailing)Momentum (end-of-day)
Zero edge+$1,358 (0.70)+$432 (0.30)+$382 (0.30)+$2,047 (0.30)
Medium+$57,443 (0.70)+$25,529 (0.30)+$20,513 (0.50)+$20,216 (0.30)

Numbers in parentheses are lot size. Since Qualification's trailing type has no daily loss limit, sizing up to 0.70 lots gets it to +$57,443/year at "medium" skill. But that means a single loss of $1,834 eats 70% of the $2,500 max loss — not a realistic sizing approach.

Comparison with FTMO Futures and Topstep ($50K, 0.30 lots)

SkillBulenox Momentum (end-of-day)Bulenox Qualification (end-of-day)FTMO Futures ProTopstep
Zero edge+$2,047+$432+$4,836+$2,519
Medium+$20,216+$25,529+$26,306+$24,982

Caveats

  • Information in our earlier article is now outdated. The pricing structure in the Bulenox complete guide, written while the subscription model was still in effect, no longer applies.
  • The discount rate on the standing coupon BULENOX is unconfirmed since we didn't open the checkout screen.
  • We couldn't find where Momentum's max loss locks after passing, or its reset fee, documented anywhere official.
  • Market data costs a monthly fee if you're classified as a professional, and the pricing page ($116) and help center (per-exchange, $112) disagree on the amount. Individuals classified as non-professional get it for free.

FAQ

Q. Which plan should I buy?

If you're not confident in your edge, go with Momentum (end-of-day) $50K. It's a $143 one-time payment with no activation fee on passing, and came out to +$2,047/year even at zero edge. If you have an edge, go with Qualification (end-of-day) — at "medium" skill, that's +$25,529/year.

Q. Which is better, trailing or end-of-day?

At one trade a day and 0.30 lots, the end-of-day type came out ahead on every plan. Since the max-loss line doesn't rise on floating profit, it's less prone to failing, and you'll rarely even approach the daily loss limit ($1,100–$1,200).

Q. Can I use a commercial EA?

No. The official FAQ explicitly states "commercial, shared, rented, or publicly distributed automation tools are not allowed."

Simulation script: scripts/sim-futures-b-ev.py (engine: scripts/sim-futures-prop-ev.py)

Written by

Hosono P | the prop firm strategist

I buy challenges with my own money and record everything through to the payout. Recorded payouts: ¥6.1M in total from Fintokei, Fundora and Funded7, plus $4,776 from The5ers (as of September 2026). Author of the semi-discretionary EA "ELDRA".

Profile and payout recordX @hosono_p

📚Related articles

🧪

[September 2026] Expected Value Summary: 5 Futures Prop Firms Where Self-Built Bots Are Allowed — TradeDay and Topstep Win at Zero Edge, Bulenox/Topstep/Tradeify Win With Edge

A summary comparing $50K accounts at 5 futures prop firms where automated trading is allowed 'self-built only, with conditions' (Bulenox, Tradeify, TradeDay, The Trading Pit, Topstep), run through identical Monte Carlo simulations. At 0.30 lots, one micro gold trade per day, over 1 year: at zero edge, TradeDay Quick Pay Intraday (+$2,522) and Topstep (+$2,519) are tied for the top. At 'medium' edge, Bulenox Qualification (+$25,529), Topstep (+$24,982), and Tradeify Select Daily (+$24,218) lead. None of them reach Category A's (fully automated OK) leader, FTMO Futures Pro (+$4,836 at zero edge). The Trading Pit is the only one that explicitly allows VPS; TradeDay and Topstep ban it.

Research9/25/2026
🧪

[September 2026] We Calculated BluSky's Expected Value: The 3-Stage Model Favors Propel (30OFF), +$2,988/Year at Zero Edge

We compared the three plans (Launch, Propel, Orbit) at futures prop BluSky Trading using a Monte Carlo simulation run for one year, from evaluation through payout. Verified pricing, reset fees, the Buffer Zone, and payout terms on the official help center and pricing page on September 25, 2026. It's a 3-stage model — Evaluation → Buffer Zone → Sim Funded — and failing the Buffer Zone doesn't send you back to redo the evaluation. At 0.30 lots and zero edge, Propel $50K (code 30OFF brings it to $112/month) is best at +$2,988/year. Orbit's 30-day deadline is a heavy burden, and it comes out negative at zero edge.

Research9/25/2026
🧪

[September 2026] We Calculated Funded Futures Network (FFN)'s Expected Value: Both Plans Negative at Zero Edge, STEADY Wins With Edge Thanks to Faster Payouts

We compared futures prop firm Funded Futures Network (FFN)'s two plans (Standard MAX and STEADY) with a 1-year Monte Carlo simulation running from evaluation through payout. Pricing, reset fees, buffer requirements, and payout conditions confirmed on the official help center and pricing page on September 25, 2026. At 0.30 lots and zero edge, both are negative: Standard MAX at −$312/year, STEADY at −$516/year. The requirement to build a $2,000 + $500 buffer on the funded account before any payout is the biggest drag. With edge, STEADY pulls ahead since it drops the consistency rule after passing and allows daily payouts.

Research9/25/2026
🧪

[September 2026] Expected Value Roundup: 6 Futures Prop Firms That Allow Automated Trading | FTMO Futures Pro Wins at Zero Edge and With an Edge

A roundup comparing every plan at 6 futures prop firms that officially allow automated trading (FTMO Futures, FundedNext Futures, MyFundedFutures, Lucid Trading, BluSky, FFN) under the same Monte Carlo conditions. At $50K, 0.30 lots, 1 micro gold trade a day, over 1 year: at zero edge, FTMO Futures Pro wins with +$4,836 a year, followed by BluSky Propel at +$2,988. At 'medium' edge, FTMO Pro still wins at +$26,306, but FFN STEADY, MFFU Rapid EOD, and Lucid Daily all cluster around $24,000. Only FTMO and FundedNext explicitly allow VPS.

Research9/25/2026
🧪

[September 2026] I Calculated The Trading Pit Futures's (Futures Prime) Expected Value | A $99 One-Time Fee Nets +$1,345/Year at Zero Edge, and Own EAs + VPS Are Explicitly Allowed

I calculated the expected value of The Trading Pit's futures challenge, Futures Prime $50K, with a year-long Monte Carlo simulation from evaluation through payouts. Confirmed on the official futures page and help center on September 25, 2026. $99 one-time fee, $79 reset, 30-day evaluation. At 0.30 lots: +$1,345/year at zero edge, +$21,491/year at 'medium' edge. It's one of the few futures prop firms that explicitly allows both your own EA and a VPS, but its Trustpilot rating is suspended for violating guidelines.

Research9/25/2026
🧪

TradeDay Expected Value, Calculated (September 2026) | At Zero Edge, Quick Pay Intraday Nets +$2,522/Year - But Gains Plateau, and VPS Is Banned

We ran a one-year Monte Carlo simulation from evaluation to payout for TradeDay's $50K plans (Quick Pay Intraday, Quick Pay EOD, Fast Pass EOD), a futures prop firm. Confirmed against the official pricing card and help center on September 25, 2026. The monthly fee only applies during evaluation and stops once you pass; there's no activation fee and no daily loss limit. At 0.30 lots and zero edge, Quick Pay Intraday comes out best among Category B firms (self-built automation only) at +$2,522/year. That said, the profit split is 50%, and the sim account is capped at $10,000 in cumulative profit, so even with edge you're looking at only around +$8,000/year. VPS is banned, and so are off-the-shelf bots.

Research9/25/2026