🧪 Research

[September 2026] We Calculated Funded Futures Network (FFN)'s Expected Value: Both Plans Negative at Zero Edge, STEADY Wins With Edge Thanks to Faster Payouts

Published: 9/25/2026

※ Pricing and rules were confirmed on FFN's official help center (fundedfuturesnetwork.zendesk.com) and pricing page on September 25, 2026. The figures are Monte Carlo simulation results and do not guarantee future performance.

📢 Advertising / affiliate disclosure: This site does not hold an affiliate link with FFN.

TL;DR

  • Both plans are negative at zero edge. At 0.30 lots, Standard MAX comes to −$312/year, STEADY to −$516/year
  • The cause: on the funded account you can't withdraw a single dollar until you've built a "$2,000 + $500" buffer. Since max loss is also $2,000, many accounts get lost before they ever finish building it
  • STEADY wins with edge. It drops the consistency rule after passing and allows daily payouts once conditions are met. At "medium" edge, 0.30 lots nets +$24,104/year
  • Under the same conditions, FTMO Futures Pro $50K comes to +$4,836 at zero edge and +$26,306 at "medium"
  • Automated trading is "allowed at FFN's discretion." Trading within 1 minute of a major news release triggers forced liquidation and profit forfeiture on a funded account

Pricing and rules (verified September 25, 2026)

Standard MAX $50KSTEADY $50K
Price$160/month (during evaluation)One-time $229
Coupon DOUBLE50 through Sep 30Half price ($80/month) + a second free evaluationHalf price ($115) + a second free evaluation
Evaluation reset$100$180
Activation feeNone (per the pricing page; the help center lists $120)None
Evaluation target / max loss$3,000 / $2,000 (trailing, based on closing price)Same
Evaluation daily loss$1,250 (stops for the day)None
Evaluation pass condition5 winning days of $150+Minimum 2 days
Evaluation consistency40%52%
Max loss after passingTrails from starting balance −$2,000, based on closing price, locks at +$100Same
Daily loss after passing$1,250 (stops for the day)None
Consistency after passing40%None
Payout conditionBuild a $2,000 buffer, plus $500 moreSame
Amount withdrawableWhatever exceeds the bufferSame
Cap per request$1,500 (rises to $2,000 from the 4th)Same
Minimum payout$500$500
Payout frequencyEvery time you meet the conditionSame
Split (sim / live)80% / 90%90% (not stated in the help center; the figure at the July announcement)

Common to all plans:

  • There's no separate funded step — you build the buffer directly on the funded-style account itself (the MAX-style structure). A $50K account starts at $50,000, with the max-loss line at $48,000. You can only withdraw once the balance exceeds $52,500
  • Payouts are capped at $10,000 per person per request (across all accounts combined). No fees, processed the same day
  • Daily flat close is at 4:50 PM ET (5:50 AM JST in summer / 6:50 AM JST in winter). Carrying a position past this is a breach
  • The platform is Rithmic-based, with an Onyx or Quantower license included
  • Trustpilot 3.8 (493 reviews). Japan is not on the restricted-country list (not among the official 23 restricted countries)

Automated trading and VPS

The official FAQ says "Automated trading is allowed but at the discretion of FFN" — permission comes with management discretion. HFT bots and abusing the sim environment result in loss of account access. Copying the same product simultaneously is allowed up to 5 accounts; exceeding that resets all related accounts.

Trading is banned within 1 minute before/after a major (T1) news release; violating this on a funded account triggers forced liquidation and forfeits profit, with no exceptions. An EA that trades through these windows needs logic to avoid them. We found no stated VPS policy.

Assumptions

Same as the FTMO Futures expected value article.

  • One trade per trading day on Micro Gold (MGC). At a 0.6% stop-loss, the loss on 0.10 lots (1 MGC contract) is $262
  • Same lot size for the evaluation and funded account. 1 year (252 trading days)
  • Since fees aren't published, we assume the same MGC round-trip cost of $1.82 as FTMO
  • Standard MAX's monthly fee is the list price of $160 (it's not stated officially whether the DOUBLE50 half-price rate continues on renewal). We assume billing stops once you pass
  • Standard MAX is limited to a lot size (up to 0.30) where a single loss stays within the $1,250 daily loss limit
  • On failure, reset; if you lose the funded account, buy again
  • The "second free evaluation" perk is not factored into the calculation

Result ①: Annual expected value at a fixed 0.30 lots

EdgeStandard MAXSTEADYSTEADY (DOUBLE50)
−0.10R−$3,408−$4,171−$4,057
−0.04R−$1,837−$2,212−$2,098
Zero edge−$312 (36%)−$516 (39%)−$402 (40%)
Small (50% win rate, 1.2 payoff ratio)+$5,102+$7,072+$7,186
Medium (55% win rate, 1.2 payoff ratio)+$15,949+$24,104+$24,218
Strong (60% win rate, 1.2 payoff ratio)+$28,754+$44,567+$44,681

The number in parentheses is the probability of finishing profitable. "Strong" is a reference point that's realistically rare.

  • Both plans are negative at zero edge. Among the 7 futures prop firms we've calculated under the same conditions (0.30 lots) on this site, FFN is the only one where even the best plan comes out negative at zero edge
  • With edge, STEADY pulls well ahead. It has no consistency rule after passing, and allows a daily payout for every $500 that clears the buffer
  • DOUBLE50's effect is roughly $100/year. The half-price rate only applies to the first purchase — reset fees and re-buys after failing are at full price

Result ②: cash flow (0.30 lots)

Annual costAnnual payoutEvaluation passesPayout countTimes the funded account was lost
Standard MAX (zero edge)$3,743$3,4316.4x3.2x6.1x
STEADY (zero edge)$5,236$4,7207.1x6.0x6.8x
STEADY (medium)$1,719$25,8233.8x29.6x3.0x

At zero edge, the number of times you pass and the number of times you lose the funded account are nearly the same. Against a $2,000 max loss on the funded account, you need +$2,500 to reach a payout. Since losing $2,000 first is the more likely outcome, most passes never turn into money.

Result ③: the best-performing setup

EdgeStandard MAXSTEADY
Zero edge−$312 (0.30)+$1,135 (0.70)
Small+$5,102 (0.30)+$16,839 (0.70)
Medium+$15,949 (0.30)+$55,947 (0.70)

The number in parentheses is the lot size. STEADY has no daily loss limit, so the bigger you size, the higher the expected value climbs. But at 0.70 lots, a single loss is $1,834 — nearly the entire $2,000 max loss. That's a sizing scheme where one loss ends everything, so it isn't a realistic strategy.

Comparison with FTMO Futures and Topstep ($50K, 0.30 lots)

EdgeFFN Standard MAXFFN STEADYFTMO Futures ProTopstep
Zero edge−$312−$516+$4,836+$2,519
Medium+$15,949+$24,104+$26,306+$24,982

At zero edge, FFN loses badly to both FTMO and Topstep. For someone with real edge, STEADY comes close to matching FTMO Pro and Topstep.

Caveats

  • There are inconsistencies within the official materials. The help center lists the activation fee as $120, while the pricing page says "none." The same cheat sheet lists both "resets on every payout" and "best-day rule doesn't reset" for the consistency rule
  • STEADY has no dedicated help center article (it's a plan added in July 2026). Its rules come from the "View full details" display on the pricing page, and the 90% split is the figure from the time of its announcement
  • Trustpilot has reports of delays on their proprietary Onyx platform and payouts running 2–3 weeks late
  • Once you request a payout, you must not trade until the balance reflects it (trading afterward gets the payout rejected)

FAQ

Q. Is FFN worth buying?

If you're not confident in your edge, you're better off choosing another firm. In this calculation, both plans came out negative at zero edge. If you do have edge, STEADY is worth considering.

Q. Which is better, Standard MAX or STEADY?

If you're close to zero edge, Standard MAX has the smaller loss (−$312 vs. −$516). If you have edge, go with STEADY. STEADY has no consistency rule after passing and allows daily payouts.

Q. Should I use DOUBLE50?

There's no downside to using it. But since the half-price rate only applies to the first purchase, it only shifts the annual expected value by about $100.

Simulation script: scripts/sim-futures-blusky-ffn-ev.py (engine: scripts/sim-futures-prop-ev.py)

Written by

Hosono P | the prop firm strategist

I buy challenges with my own money and record everything through to the payout. Recorded payouts: ¥6.1M in total from Fintokei, Fundora and Funded7, plus $4,776 from The5ers (as of September 2026). Author of the semi-discretionary EA "ELDRA".

Profile and payout recordX @hosono_p

📚Related articles

🧪

[September 2026] We Calculated BluSky's Expected Value: The 3-Stage Model Favors Propel (30OFF), +$2,988/Year at Zero Edge

We compared the three plans (Launch, Propel, Orbit) at futures prop BluSky Trading using a Monte Carlo simulation run for one year, from evaluation through payout. Verified pricing, reset fees, the Buffer Zone, and payout terms on the official help center and pricing page on September 25, 2026. It's a 3-stage model — Evaluation → Buffer Zone → Sim Funded — and failing the Buffer Zone doesn't send you back to redo the evaluation. At 0.30 lots and zero edge, Propel $50K (code 30OFF brings it to $112/month) is best at +$2,988/year. Orbit's 30-day deadline is a heavy burden, and it comes out negative at zero edge.

Research9/25/2026
🧪

[September 2026] Calculating Bulenox's Expected Value: Every Plan Is Now One-Time Payment. At Zero Edge, End-of-Day Momentum Wins; With an Edge, Qualification Wins

A Monte Carlo comparing futures prop firm Bulenox's $50K plans (Qualification and Momentum, each available in trailing and end-of-day variants) over a full year from evaluation through payouts. Confirmed on the official pricing page, help center, and fee schedule on September 25, 2026. The monthly subscription model is gone — every plan is now a one-time payment. At 0.30 lots and zero edge, Momentum (end-of-day) comes out best at +$2,047/year; with 'medium' edge, Qualification leads at +$25,529. Automated trading is allowed only for self-built tools — commercial or shared tools are banned.

Research9/25/2026
🧪

[September 2026] Expected Value Summary: 5 Futures Prop Firms Where Self-Built Bots Are Allowed — TradeDay and Topstep Win at Zero Edge, Bulenox/Topstep/Tradeify Win With Edge

A summary comparing $50K accounts at 5 futures prop firms where automated trading is allowed 'self-built only, with conditions' (Bulenox, Tradeify, TradeDay, The Trading Pit, Topstep), run through identical Monte Carlo simulations. At 0.30 lots, one micro gold trade per day, over 1 year: at zero edge, TradeDay Quick Pay Intraday (+$2,522) and Topstep (+$2,519) are tied for the top. At 'medium' edge, Bulenox Qualification (+$25,529), Topstep (+$24,982), and Tradeify Select Daily (+$24,218) lead. None of them reach Category A's (fully automated OK) leader, FTMO Futures Pro (+$4,836 at zero edge). The Trading Pit is the only one that explicitly allows VPS; TradeDay and Topstep ban it.

Research9/25/2026
🧪

[September 2026] Expected Value Roundup: 6 Futures Prop Firms That Allow Automated Trading | FTMO Futures Pro Wins at Zero Edge and With an Edge

A roundup comparing every plan at 6 futures prop firms that officially allow automated trading (FTMO Futures, FundedNext Futures, MyFundedFutures, Lucid Trading, BluSky, FFN) under the same Monte Carlo conditions. At $50K, 0.30 lots, 1 micro gold trade a day, over 1 year: at zero edge, FTMO Futures Pro wins with +$4,836 a year, followed by BluSky Propel at +$2,988. At 'medium' edge, FTMO Pro still wins at +$26,306, but FFN STEADY, MFFU Rapid EOD, and Lucid Daily all cluster around $24,000. Only FTMO and FundedNext explicitly allow VPS.

Research9/25/2026
🧪

[September 2026] I Calculated The Trading Pit Futures's (Futures Prime) Expected Value | A $99 One-Time Fee Nets +$1,345/Year at Zero Edge, and Own EAs + VPS Are Explicitly Allowed

I calculated the expected value of The Trading Pit's futures challenge, Futures Prime $50K, with a year-long Monte Carlo simulation from evaluation through payouts. Confirmed on the official futures page and help center on September 25, 2026. $99 one-time fee, $79 reset, 30-day evaluation. At 0.30 lots: +$1,345/year at zero edge, +$21,491/year at 'medium' edge. It's one of the few futures prop firms that explicitly allows both your own EA and a VPS, but its Trustpilot rating is suspended for violating guidelines.

Research9/25/2026
🧪

TradeDay Expected Value, Calculated (September 2026) | At Zero Edge, Quick Pay Intraday Nets +$2,522/Year - But Gains Plateau, and VPS Is Banned

We ran a one-year Monte Carlo simulation from evaluation to payout for TradeDay's $50K plans (Quick Pay Intraday, Quick Pay EOD, Fast Pass EOD), a futures prop firm. Confirmed against the official pricing card and help center on September 25, 2026. The monthly fee only applies during evaluation and stops once you pass; there's no activation fee and no daily loss limit. At 0.30 lots and zero edge, Quick Pay Intraday comes out best among Category B firms (self-built automation only) at +$2,522/year. That said, the profit split is 50%, and the sim account is capped at $10,000 in cumulative profit, so even with edge you're looking at only around +$8,000/year. VPS is banned, and so are off-the-shelf bots.

Research9/25/2026