πŸ§ͺ Research

[September 2026] Expected Value Roundup: 6 Futures Prop Firms That Allow Automated Trading | FTMO Futures Pro Wins at Zero Edge and With an Edge

Published: 9/25/2026Updated: 9/25/2026

Note: Each firm's prices and rules were confirmed on its official site and help center between September 22–25, 2026. The figures are Monte Carlo results and don't guarantee future performance. Detailed calculations for each firm are in their individual articles.

πŸ“’ Advertising / Affiliate Disclosure: This site holds no affiliate links with any futures-focused firm.

TL;DR

  • The subjects are the 6 firms classified as "fully automated OK (Category A)" in a full review of automated-trading rules across 28 futures prop firms
  • At zero edge, FTMO Futures Pro $50K wins ($139/month). At 0.30 lots, +$4,836 a year. 2nd is BluSky Propel at +$2,988, 3rd is Lucid Flex at +$2,152
  • FTMO Pro wins even at "medium" edge (+$26,306). But FFN STEADY (+$24,104), MFFU Rapid EOD (+$24,039), and Lucid Daily (+$23,859) all cluster close behind
  • FFN is the only one negative at zero edge (even at best, βˆ’$312)
  • If you're running a bot 24/7 on a VPS, go with FTMO or FundedNext. These are the only 2 firms that explicitly allow VPS; the other 4 have no stated policy
  • The 5 Category B firms (own bots only, with conditions) were also calculated under the same conditions (added September 25, 2026). At zero edge, the top are TradeDay at +$2,522 and Topstep at +$2,519, neither of which catches FTMO Futures Pro (see "Comparison With Category B" below)

Comparing the 6 Firms ($50K)

FirmPlan with the best EVPriceAutomated tradingVPSTrustpilot
FTMO FuturesPro$139/month (stops once you pass)β­• Explicitly allowed (own bots assumed)β­• Explicitly allowed4.8 (company-wide)
FundedNext FuturesFlex / LegacyOne-time $69.99 / $199.99β­• Explicitly allowedβ­• Allowed per the help center4.5 (company-wide)
MyFundedFuturesBuilder / Rapid EODOne-time $75 / $125 (CLUB)β­• Allowed if it's your own configured strategyNot stated4.9
Lucid TradingFlex (with daily loss) / DailyOne-time $90.20 / $119β­• AllowedNot stated4.4
BluSkyPropel$112/month (30OFF, stops once you pass)β­• AllowedNot stated4.7
FFNStandard MAX / STEADY$160/month / one-time $229β­• At the firm's discretionNot stated3.8

Firms with 2 "best plans" listed are ones where the ranking flips between zero edge and having an edge (left is zero edge, right is with an edge).

Assumptions (Common to All Firms)

  • 1 trade a day on micro gold (MGC). At a 0.6% stop-loss, the loss on 0.10 lots (1 MGC contract) is $262
  • Standardized at $50K, 0.30 lots (FTMO Pro's $1,000 hard daily loss caps it at 0.30)
  • Same lot size on the evaluation and post-pass account. 1 year (252 trading days). Profit left in the account after 1 year and anything after moving to a live account isn't counted
  • Reset on disqualification, buy again if you lose a passing account
  • Fees use each firm's official figures (FundedNext and FFN don't publish theirs, so a round-trip of $1.82 was used; BluSky uses third-party-sourced $1.00)
SkillWin rateWin/loss ratioEV per trade
βˆ’0.04R48%1.0βˆ’0.04R
Zero edge50%1.00
Small50%1.2+0.10R
Medium55%1.2+0.21R

Result β‘ : Zero Edge (Someone Who Neither Wins Nor Loses)

RankFirm / planAnnual EVProbability of ending positive
1FTMO Futures Pro+$4,83689%
2BluSky Propel (30OFF)+$2,98869%
3Lucid Flex (with daily loss)+$2,15268%
4MyFundedFutures Builder+$1,65861%
5FundedNext Futures Flex+$1,38858%
6FFN Standard MAXβˆ’$31236%
For referenceTopstep (Category B)+$2,519β€”

FTMO Pro beats 2nd place by over $1,800. There are 3 reasons.

  1. Its max loss is $3,000. Most other firms sit at $2,000 for $50K, so it's harder to fail even at the same 0.30 lots
  2. You can withdraw 100% of profit, up to $5,000 per payout. FundedNext Flex and Lucid Flex cap you at 50% of profit
  3. The monthly fee stops once you pass. Even under a subscription model, passing the evaluation quickly makes it behave like a one-time fee

Result β‘‘: 'Medium' Edge (55% Win Rate, 1.2 Win/Loss Ratio)

RankFirm / planAnnual EV
1FTMO Futures Pro+$26,306
2FFN STEADY+$24,104
3MyFundedFutures Rapid EOD+$24,039
4Lucid Daily+$23,859
5FundedNext Futures Legacy+$21,554
6BluSky Propel (30OFF)+$19,339
For referenceTopstep (Category B)+$24,982

With an edge, plans with no payout cap, or that allow daily payouts (FFN STEADY, MFFU Rapid EOD, Lucid Daily), pull ahead. FTMO Pro still comes out on top because its $5,000-per-payout cap doesn't actually function as a ceiling at 0.30 lots. BluSky lands 6th because the calculation conservatively cut off withdrawals from a single account at $10,000 (not counting anything after moving to live).

Result β‘’: 'Small' Edge (50% Win Rate, 1.2 Win/Loss Ratio)

Firm / planAnnual EV
FTMO Futures Pro+$10,141
BluSky Propel+$9,630
MyFundedFutures Rapid EOD+$7,723
Lucid Daily+$7,438
FFN STEADY (DOUBLE50)+$7,186
FundedNext Futures Flex+$6,589

Sizing Up Changes the Ranking

If you don't standardize at 0.30 lots and instead pick whichever lot size is best for each plan, plans with no daily loss limit rise to the top.

'Medium' skillBest lot sizeAnnual EV
Lucid Daily0.70+$57,277
FFN STEADY0.70+$55,947
MyFundedFutures Rapid0.50+$42,096
FundedNext Futures Legacy0.70+$41,373
FTMO Futures Pro0.30 (capped)+$26,306

But at 0.70 lots, a single loss is $1,834 β€” nearly the entire $2,000 max loss. This is sizing where one loss can end the account, meaning in reality you'd be resetting or buying again dozens of times a year. FTMO's terms also ban trades that "can't be replicated with real capital" (overleveraging), so this isn't a setup to aim for with automated trading.

How to Choose If You're Running a Bot

ConditionWhere to go
Want to run 24/7 on a VPSFTMO Futures (explicitly allowed) or FundedNext Futures (allowed per the help center)
Not confident in your edgeFTMO Futures Pro. +$4,836 a year even at zero edge
An EA that trades across major releasesAvoid Lucid Daily and FFN, where holding within Β±1 minute of a release is a violation
Sharing the same bot with other peopleLucid has reports of closures citing "coordinated trading by multiple users." FTMO also risks having a commercial EA denied on the funded account
Don't want to keep paying a monthly feeThe one-time Lucid Flex ($90.20) or MFFU Builder ($75)

The steps the site owner actually used to run a NinjaTrader bot on FTMO Futures are covered in How to Run Automated Trading on a Futures Prop Firm.

Comparison With Category B (Added September 25, 2026)

The 5 Category B firms β€” where automated trading is allowed "only with your own bots, with conditions" β€” were also calculated under the same conditions ($50K, 0.30 lots). See Expected-Value Roundup: 5 Futures Prop Firms Where Your Own Bot Is Allowed for details.

SkillCategory A's topCategory B's top
Zero edgeFTMO Futures Pro +$4,836TradeDay Quick Pay Intraday +$2,522 / Topstep +$2,519
SmallFTMO Futures Pro +$10,141Topstep +$8,651
MediumFTMO Futures Pro +$26,306Bulenox Qualification +$25,529 / Topstep +$24,982

Here's each Category B firm's best plan (0.30 lots).

Firm / planZero edgeMediumVPS
TradeDay Quick Pay Intraday+$2,522+$8,424Banned
Topstep+$2,519+$24,982Banned
Bulenox Momentum (close-based) / Qualification (close-based)+$2,047+$25,529No stated policy
The Trading Pit Futures Prime+$1,345+$21,491Explicitly allowed
Tradeify Growth / Select Daily+$1,255+$24,218Login not allowed, trading itself allowed at your own risk

The conclusion doesn't change: Category A's FTMO Futures Pro comes out on top whether at zero edge or with an edge. Within Category B, The Trading Pit is the only one that explicitly allows VPS.

What's Not Included in This Calculation

  • Slippage on fills
  • Each firm's payout delays, or account closures at the firm's discretion
  • Coupon expiration (BluSky 30OFF, FFN DOUBLE50 (until September 30), MFFU CLUB, Lucid VAULT)
  • What you keep after moving to a live account

Individual Articles

Simulation scripts: scripts/sim-ftmo-futures-ev.py (FTMO), scripts/sim-futures-3firms-ev.py (FundedNext, MFFU, Lucid), scripts/sim-futures-blusky-ffn-ev.py (BluSky, FFN)

Written by

Hosono P | the prop firm strategist

I buy challenges with my own money and record everything through to the payout. Recorded payouts: Β₯6.1M in total from Fintokei, Fundora and Funded7, plus $4,776 from The5ers (as of September 2026). Author of the semi-discretionary EA "ELDRA".

Profile and payout recordX @hosono_p

πŸ“šRelated articles

πŸ§ͺ

[September 2026] Expected Value Summary: 5 Futures Prop Firms Where Self-Built Bots Are Allowed β€” TradeDay and Topstep Win at Zero Edge, Bulenox/Topstep/Tradeify Win With Edge

A summary comparing $50K accounts at 5 futures prop firms where automated trading is allowed 'self-built only, with conditions' (Bulenox, Tradeify, TradeDay, The Trading Pit, Topstep), run through identical Monte Carlo simulations. At 0.30 lots, one micro gold trade per day, over 1 year: at zero edge, TradeDay Quick Pay Intraday (+$2,522) and Topstep (+$2,519) are tied for the top. At 'medium' edge, Bulenox Qualification (+$25,529), Topstep (+$24,982), and Tradeify Select Daily (+$24,218) lead. None of them reach Category A's (fully automated OK) leader, FTMO Futures Pro (+$4,836 at zero edge). The Trading Pit is the only one that explicitly allows VPS; TradeDay and Topstep ban it.

Research9/25/2026
πŸ§ͺ

[September 2026] I Calculated The Trading Pit Futures's (Futures Prime) Expected Value | A $99 One-Time Fee Nets +$1,345/Year at Zero Edge, and Own EAs + VPS Are Explicitly Allowed

I calculated the expected value of The Trading Pit's futures challenge, Futures Prime $50K, with a year-long Monte Carlo simulation from evaluation through payouts. Confirmed on the official futures page and help center on September 25, 2026. $99 one-time fee, $79 reset, 30-day evaluation. At 0.30 lots: +$1,345/year at zero edge, +$21,491/year at 'medium' edge. It's one of the few futures prop firms that explicitly allows both your own EA and a VPS, but its Trustpilot rating is suspended for violating guidelines.

Research9/25/2026
πŸ§ͺ

TradeDay Expected Value, Calculated (September 2026) | At Zero Edge, Quick Pay Intraday Nets +$2,522/Year - But Gains Plateau, and VPS Is Banned

We ran a one-year Monte Carlo simulation from evaluation to payout for TradeDay's $50K plans (Quick Pay Intraday, Quick Pay EOD, Fast Pass EOD), a futures prop firm. Confirmed against the official pricing card and help center on September 25, 2026. The monthly fee only applies during evaluation and stops once you pass; there's no activation fee and no daily loss limit. At 0.30 lots and zero edge, Quick Pay Intraday comes out best among Category B firms (self-built automation only) at +$2,522/year. That said, the profit split is 50%, and the sim account is capped at $10,000 in cumulative profit, so even with edge you're looking at only around +$8,000/year. VPS is banned, and so are off-the-shelf bots.

Research9/25/2026
πŸ§ͺ

[September 2026] I calculated FundedNext Futures' expected value β€” VPS and automated trading are explicitly allowed; go Legacy with an edge, Flex without one

Compared FundedNext Futures' 4 plans (Flex, Legacy, Rapid Pro, Rapid Daily) in a full year of Monte Carlo simulation from evaluation to payout. Confirmed prices, reset costs, max loss, and withdrawal conditions on the official help center on September 23, 2026. All plans are one-time purchases with no activation fee. At zero edge, only Flex $50K comes out positive at +$1,388/year; with an edge, Legacy pulls ahead thanks to its larger withdrawal cap. Covers how Flex and Rapid end an account after 5 payouts, plus a comparison against FTMO Futures and Topstep.

Research9/23/2026
πŸ§ͺ

[September 2026] We Calculated BluSky's Expected Value: The 3-Stage Model Favors Propel (30OFF), +$2,988/Year at Zero Edge

We compared the three plans (Launch, Propel, Orbit) at futures prop BluSky Trading using a Monte Carlo simulation run for one year, from evaluation through payout. Verified pricing, reset fees, the Buffer Zone, and payout terms on the official help center and pricing page on September 25, 2026. It's a 3-stage model β€” Evaluation β†’ Buffer Zone β†’ Sim Funded β€” and failing the Buffer Zone doesn't send you back to redo the evaluation. At 0.30 lots and zero edge, Propel $50K (code 30OFF brings it to $112/month) is best at +$2,988/year. Orbit's 30-day deadline is a heavy burden, and it comes out negative at zero edge.

Research9/25/2026
πŸ§ͺ

[September 2026] Calculating Bulenox's Expected Value: Every Plan Is Now One-Time Payment. At Zero Edge, End-of-Day Momentum Wins; With an Edge, Qualification Wins

A Monte Carlo comparing futures prop firm Bulenox's $50K plans (Qualification and Momentum, each available in trailing and end-of-day variants) over a full year from evaluation through payouts. Confirmed on the official pricing page, help center, and fee schedule on September 25, 2026. The monthly subscription model is gone β€” every plan is now a one-time payment. At 0.30 lots and zero edge, Momentum (end-of-day) comes out best at +$2,047/year; with 'medium' edge, Qualification leads at +$25,529. Automated trading is allowed only for self-built tools β€” commercial or shared tools are banned.

Research9/25/2026