🔍 Firm comparisons

FTMO Futures vs Topstep: FTMO Wins on Expected Value, Topstep Wins on Monthly Cost. If You're Running a Bot, VPS Access Is the Deciding Factor [September 2026]

Published: 9/22/2026Updated: 9/23/2026

※ Rules and pricing were confirmed on both companies' official pages and help centers on September 23, 2026 (Trustpilot and automated-trading rules confirmed September 22, 2026). Please re-confirm with the official sources before purchasing.

📢 Advertising/affiliate disclosure: We do not hold an affiliate link for either company.

TL;DR

  • The monthly fee is less than half at Topstep. $50K: Topstep $49, FTMO Futures Pro $139
  • Even so, expected value favors FTMO Futures Pro. Running $50K at the same 0.30 lots for a year, FTMO comes out to +$4,836 vs. Topstep's +$2,519 at zero edge, and +$10,141 vs. +$8,651 with a small edge
  • Topstep loses out because of the $149 activation fee every time you pass, withdrawals capped at 50% of the balance, and a max loss as tight as $2,000
  • Topstep's daily loss limit is optional, so sizing up flips the result in its favor. But that means buying 25+ resets a year, which risks running into Topstep's rule against "excessive reset purchasing"
  • If you're running a bot, go with FTMO. Topstep bans VPS, charges a separate $14.50–$29/month for API access, and doesn't allow the API on live accounts
  • If you want more accounts, go with Topstep. You can hold up to 5 accounts after passing (FTMO caps it at 3)

Comparison table (September 23, 2026)

ItemTopstep $50KFTMO Futures Pro $50K
Monthly fee$49 (no-activation-fee plan: $95)$139
Activation fee on passing$149 (no-activation-fee plan: $0)None
Reset$49 (same as monthly fee). Billing date shifts 30 days$129. Billing date doesn't change
Free reset1 accrues with each monthly renewalNone (a breach means a new account at the next billing date)
Profit target$3,000$3,000
Max loss$2,000 (EOD trailing)$3,000 (EOD trailing)
Daily lossOptional. $1,000, soft$1,000, hard
Consistency (evaluation)Best day ≤ 55% of total profitBest day ≤ 50% of total profit
Starting balance after passingFrom $0From $50,000
Max loss after passingFrom −$2,000. Locks to $0 on the first payoutLocked to the initial balance
Payout condition5 winning days of $150+, or 3 trading days + best day ≤40%5 days of $200+
Withdrawable amountUp to 50% of the balanceUp to 100% of profit
Per-payout cap$2,000 / $3,000 (doubled if you add a daily loss limit at purchase)$5,000
Max accounts after passing53
Profit split90/1090/10
BotAllowed (API $29/mo, $14.50 with a coupon)Allowed (no extra cost)
VPSBannedExplicitly allowed
Bot on a live accountNot allowedRules not disclosed
PlatformTopstepXNinjaTrader / Tradovate / TradingView
Trustpilot (9/22)3.6 / 14,815 reviews4.8 / 52,613 reviews

For both, consistency only applies during evaluation, and violating it doesn't fail you outright — it just delays passing. Both are usable from Japan at every stage.

Expected value: FTMO Futures Pro wins at the same lot size

Here's the per-account expected return from running evaluation → funded account → payout for 1 year (252 trading days). Assumptions are shared across both firms.

  • 1 trade a day on Micro Gold (MGC), 0.6% stop loss ($262 at 0.10 lots)
  • Same lot size for evaluation and the funded account
  • Reset on a breach; buy again if you lose the funded account
  • Round-trip MGC commission: $1.82 at FTMO, $1.92 at Topstep (both include the CME exchange fee of $1.40)

$50K, 0.30 lots (the cap for FTMO Pro, since its daily loss is hard)

EdgeTopstepFTMO Futures Pro
−0.04R+$1,162+$2,963
Zero edge+$2,519 (71% end positive)+$4,836 (89%)
Small (50% win rate, 1.2 R:R)+$8,651+$10,141
Medium (55% win rate, 1.2 R:R)+$24,982+$26,306

Here's what makes up Topstep's gap.

  • Activation fee: at zero edge you pass roughly 7 times a year, costing about $1,060
  • Withdrawals capped at 50% of the balance: the rest stays in the account and disappears together with the next loss
  • Max loss of $2,000: FTMO Pro's is $3,000, equal to the profit target

Topstep wins if you go without a daily loss limit and size up

Since Topstep lets you skip the daily loss limit, you can size up to 0.50 lots (a $1,310 loss per losing trade) even on $50K.

EdgeTopstep 0.50 lotsFTMO Pro 0.30 lotsTopstep's annual resets
Zero edge+$4,696+$4,83639
Small+$16,453+$10,14125
Medium+$33,189+$26,30612

At a small edge or better, it flips in Topstep's favor. But this means losing 66% of the max loss on a single loss, and buying roughly 25 resets a year. Topstep lists "excessive purchase of Trading Combines or resets" as a prohibited practice.

Detailed calculations are in FTMO Futures expected value and Topstep expected value.

Pricing: Topstep on monthly fee, total cost depends on how fast you pass

Here's the total cost to pass on $50K (no breaches, no resets). Bot users at Topstep also need to add the API fee (as low as $14.50/mo with a coupon).

Months to passTopstep (with activation fee)Topstep (no activation fee)FTMO Pro
1 month$198$95$139
2 months$247$190$278
3 months$296$285$417
  • If trading manually, Topstep's no-activation-fee plan is cheapest from month 1
  • But by expected value, FTMO Pro still wins. The value of the $3,000 max loss and being able to withdraw "100% of profit" outweighs the monthly fee gap

Reset handling also differs. A Topstep reset pushes your billing date 30 days out, so buying it right away rather than waiting is the better deal. An FTMO reset doesn't change your billing date, so if you're within 2 weeks of your next billing date, waiting is cheaper.

Payouts: Topstep pays out "half at a time"

Topstep only lets you withdraw up to 50% of the balance. The funded account starts from $0, and after the first payout the max loss locks to $0. Since the remaining balance stays in the account as a cushion, the account is harder to kill, but each individual withdrawal is smaller.

FTMO Pro lets you withdraw up to 100% of profit. But the withdrawn amount is deducted from the balance and the max-loss line doesn't move, so withdrawing everything puts you right up against the line, meaning you need to leave room for a few losing trades.

Topstep $50KFTMO Pro $50K
Condition5 winning days of $150+ (or 3 trading days + 40% consistency)5 days of $200+
Withdrawable amountUp to 50% of the balanceUp to 100% of profit
Per-payout cap$2,000 (Consistency plan: $3,000)$5,000
How to double the capAdd a daily loss limit when buying the evaluation (limited-time)None

Automated trading: go with FTMO if you're running a bot

TopstepFTMO Futures
Bot on evaluation/funded accountsAllowed (via API)Allowed
Cost$29/mo API ($14.50 with coupon topstep)None
VPSBanned (order transmission from your own device only)Explicitly allowed
Bot on a live accountNot allowed (API is simulation-only)Rules not disclosed

Here's a quote from Topstep's official help center.

The line is order transmission: your server can watch and record, but it cannot trade.

The main trading hours for US stock index futures run from around 22:30 JST to 5am the next morning. Since Topstep doesn't allow VPS, you're stuck leaving your home PC running until morning.

Notes on the rules

TopstepFTMO Futures
Strategies built around repeated resetsListed as a prohibited practice ("excessive Trading Combine or reset purchasing")Listed as a prohibited practice ("account rolling")
Changing lot size between evaluation and funded stageNot addressed directly (heavy sizing everywhere is discouraged)Banned as "Evaluation vs. Sim-Funded Mismatch"
Hedging across accountsBannedBanned

Which should you buy?

If you're...Choose
Not confident in your edgeFTMO Futures Pro $50K. Roughly double the expected value at the same lot size, 89% chance of finishing positive
Wanting to run a bot via VPSFTMO Futures. Topstep bans VPS
Trading manually and want the cheapest possible testTopstep (no activation fee). Cheapest total in month 1
Confident in your edge and want more accountsTopstep. Up to 5 accounts after passing

FAQ

Q. So which one is better overall?

At the same lot size, FTMO Futures Pro. On $50K at 0.30 lots and zero edge, it's +$4,836 vs. +$2,519 for the year. Topstep's monthly fee is cheaper, but the activation fee and the "withdraw up to 50% of balance" cap flip the result.

Q. Isn't Topstep's withdrawal cap $12,000?

$12,000 is the per-payout cap for a $150K account opened under the Consistency plan with a daily loss limit added at purchase (a limited-time offer that doubles the cap). The normal cap on a $50K account is $2,000 (Consistency plan: $3,000), and even then you can only withdraw up to 50% of the balance.

Q. Should I add Topstep's daily loss limit?

For $50K, expected value is higher if you skip it. If you have an edge on $150K, adding it is better because the payout cap doubling has a bigger effect. A daily loss limit, when triggered, only stops trading for the day — it doesn't fail you.

Q. Can I buy from Japan?

Yes for both. Topstep's list of "countries that can't trade" and its list of "Express Funded only, no live access" don't include Japan. Neither of FTMO's general exclusion list nor its live-account exclusion list includes Japan either.

Written by

Hosono P | the prop firm strategist

I buy challenges with my own money and record everything through to the payout. Recorded payouts: ¥6.1M in total from Fintokei, Fundora and Funded7, plus $4,776 from The5ers (as of September 2026). Author of the semi-discretionary EA "ELDRA".

Profile and payout recordX @hosono_p

📚Related articles

🔍

FTMO Futures Complete Guide: Automated Trading and VPS Both Officially Allowed as FX Giant Launches Futures in September 2026

A hands-on check of FTMO's official pages for FTMO Futures, the futures prop program FTMO launched on September 1, 2026. Its forbidden-practices page explicitly states "Automated trading is permitted," making it one of the few firms that also explicitly permits VPS and VPN use. Covers full pricing for every size of Growth and Pro, how EOD trailing drawdown works, the consistency rule that only applies during evaluation, the JST close-out deadline, the three platforms (NinjaTrader, Tradovate, TradingView), and whether it's usable from Japan.

Firm comparisons9/22/2026
🧪

[September 2026] Expected Value Summary: 5 Futures Prop Firms Where Self-Built Bots Are Allowed — TradeDay and Topstep Win at Zero Edge, Bulenox/Topstep/Tradeify Win With Edge

A summary comparing $50K accounts at 5 futures prop firms where automated trading is allowed 'self-built only, with conditions' (Bulenox, Tradeify, TradeDay, The Trading Pit, Topstep), run through identical Monte Carlo simulations. At 0.30 lots, one micro gold trade per day, over 1 year: at zero edge, TradeDay Quick Pay Intraday (+$2,522) and Topstep (+$2,519) are tied for the top. At 'medium' edge, Bulenox Qualification (+$25,529), Topstep (+$24,982), and Tradeify Select Daily (+$24,218) lead. None of them reach Category A's (fully automated OK) leader, FTMO Futures Pro (+$4,836 at zero edge). The Trading Pit is the only one that explicitly allows VPS; TradeDay and Topstep ban it.

Research9/25/2026
🧪

[September 2026] Expected Value Roundup: 6 Futures Prop Firms That Allow Automated Trading | FTMO Futures Pro Wins at Zero Edge and With an Edge

A roundup comparing every plan at 6 futures prop firms that officially allow automated trading (FTMO Futures, FundedNext Futures, MyFundedFutures, Lucid Trading, BluSky, FFN) under the same Monte Carlo conditions. At $50K, 0.30 lots, 1 micro gold trade a day, over 1 year: at zero edge, FTMO Futures Pro wins with +$4,836 a year, followed by BluSky Propel at +$2,988. At 'medium' edge, FTMO Pro still wins at +$26,306, but FFN STEADY, MFFU Rapid EOD, and Lucid Daily all cluster around $24,000. Only FTMO and FundedNext explicitly allow VPS.

Research9/25/2026
🤖

How to Automate Trading at a Futures Prop Firm: 3 Routes — NinjaTrader, TradingView, and APIs — and the Steps to Get a Bot Running on FTMO Futures (September 2026)

To automate trading at a futures prop firm, you can't use an MT5 EA — you need NinjaTrader's NinjaScript, a TradingView alert plus a relay service, or a given firm's API. This article covers the differences between the three approaches, which firms support which one, the exact steps the site owner took to get a NinjaTrader bot running on an FTMO Futures evaluation account, the coding pitfalls that trip people up (bar timing, time zones, forced liquidation, contract months), and the terms-of-service traps to watch for.

EAs & automation9/25/2026
🤖

The5ers Futures vs FTMO Futures: Comparing Two FX Giants' Futures Launch by Automated Trading Policy [September 2026]

The5ers and FTMO have both launched futures products. On September 22, 2026 we measured prices and rules for every size on both official sites. The decisive difference is automated trading: The5ers' FAQ states outright, "algorithmic trading is strictly forbidden, and users will be banned from our programs," while FTMO states, "there is no reason to restrict discretionary trading, algorithmic trading, or EAs." FTMO also explicitly allows VPS and VPN, which puts it ahead of the dedicated futures firms if you plan to run an EA around the clock. We line both up against the same 26 US futures props on cost per unit of loss buffer, EOD drawdown, the scope of the consistency rule, and payout caps.

EAs & automation9/22/2026
🔍

Only Two Prop Firms Can Actually Run Grid/Trailing-Repeat EAs: "Not Banned" and "Usable" Are Different Things

If you want to run a grid or trailing-repeat ("trailing stop and repeat" / トラリピ) type EA on a prop account, checking only whether the ban list mentions it doesn't tell you anything. What actually kills the account is the "floating-loss cap" and whether drawdown is measured on equity or on balance. City Traders Imperium's 1-Step is the unique combination of balance-based DD, no daily DD, off-the-shelf EAs allowed, and grid explicitly permitted. Fintokei doesn't list grid among its 9 banned practices, but off-the-shelf EAs aren't allowed and a combined 3% cap across all open positions becomes the real limit on how many grid levels you can run. A comparison table across 10 firms, plus the formula for working backward from the floating-loss cap to figure out how many levels you can stack. Confirmed against each firm's official help center on September 16, 2026.

Firm comparisons9/16/2026