🤖 EAs & automation

FundedNext Bans EAs/Automated Trading on Accounts $50K and Above (September 9, 2026): Which Accounts Are Affected, What Happens to Existing Accounts, and Where EA Traders Should Move

Published: 9/9/2026

※ This article is based on FundedNext's official help article as of September 9, 2026 (shown as "Updated today" on that date). The effective date and whether it applies to existing accounts are not stated officially, and as of this writing there has been no announcement on the blog or in the news section either. If you have an active account, be sure to get written confirmation from support.

TL;DR

  • FundedNext now bans EAs, bots, and automation tools on accounts of $50,000 and above. The official help article explicitly states "fully manual trading on both Challenge accounts and FundedNext accounts"
  • EAs can only be used on MT4/MT5 accounts under $50K. For Stellar 2-Step / 1-Step that means $6K, $15K, $25K; for Stellar Lite that means $5K, $10K, $25K. A separate usage fee is still required, as before
  • cTrader and Match-Trader remain banned for automated trading regardless of account size (this was already the case)
  • The effective date and whether it applies to existing accounts are not stated. Since the wording covers "both Challenge and Funded accounts," it's safer to assume active accounts are affected too and act accordingly
  • If you were planning to run an EA on a $100K account, it's realistic to drop FundedNext and shift to FTMO / Funding Pips / Fintokei / Funded7
  • This site's "buy now" rankings have also been downgraded: for EA users, FundedNext is now limited to $25K and under

What changed

Here's the relevant part of the official help article "Is EA allowed in FundedNext?" (retrieved September 9, 2026; original text in English).

ItemNew rule
Accounts under $50,000EAs, indicators, and bots allowed on MT4/MT5. Separate EA usage fee applies
Accounts of $50,000 and above"Must trade manually and cannot use Expert Advisors, trading bots, or any automation tools"
Affected phases"Fully manual on both Challenge accounts and FundedNext accounts"
cTraderAutomated/algorithmic trading is not allowed at all, for security reasons (unchanged)
Match-TraderManual only. EAs not supported (unchanged)
Cap per EA strategy$300,000 total (unchanged)
Banned EAsEAs sold specifically to pass evaluations (The Prop Pilot EA, PropEA, Gold OneShot EA MT5, Forex Flex EA, X Pass Bot), and EAs that connect to Telegram, WhatsApp, etc.
Tools treated as EAsTools that automatically adjust SL, TP, or lot size follow the same rules as EAs
Penalty for violationSoft breach (redo the phase). Repeated violations lead to account suspension and payout denial. If detected, account termination is also possible

Until now, FundedNext's EA rule was mainly a pricing issue — "you pay an extra usage fee, and it's unclear how paid challenges are treated." This change is now an outright ban based on account size.

Breakdown by account size

PlanEA allowed (under $50K)EA not allowed ($50K and above)
Stellar 2-Step$6K / $15K / $25K$50K / $100K / $200K
Stellar 1-Step$6K / $15K / $25K$50K / $100K / $200K
Stellar Lite$5K / $10K / $25K$50K / $100K / $200K
Stellar Instant$2K / $5K / $10K / $20K (all sizes allowed)-

The $300,000 cap per EA strategy is still in place, but since EAs can only be used up to $25K now, it effectively becomes "up to $25K x 12 accounts." For how the cap works, see the article on combined account size limits across multiple accounts.

What happens to existing accounts?

The official help article states neither an effective date nor whether it applies to active accounts (as of September 9, 2026). FundedNext's "Updates and Announcements" blog has no notice of this change either.

That said, the wording covers "both Challenge and FundedNext accounts," so there is no basis for assuming optimistically that only new purchases are affected. If you're running an EA on an account of $50K or more, we recommend the following steps.

  1. Stop the EA. A soft breach means redoing the phase; repeat it and your account gets suspended. Switch to manual trading or stay flat until you get confirmation
  2. Get written confirmation from support. Example wording: My existing $100K Stellar 2-Step account has been running an EA since [date]. Does the new "$50,000 and above must trade manually" rule apply to it, and from what date? Save the response as a screenshot
  3. If you have unrealized profit on a Funded account, file a payout request first. FundedNext has a 24-hour payout guarantee, so lock it in before any dispute over how the rule is interpreted
  4. Switching to manual trading is not without risk either. FundedNext requires "maintaining the same strategy on the challenge and the Funded account," and switching from EA to manual is explicitly banned. Continuing an account manually after it was passed with an EA carries its own separate risk

Where EA traders should switch to

If you're planning to run an EA on something around $100K, dropping FundedNext leaves four candidates (for each firm's EA terms, see the comparison of prop firm EA rules and each firm's guide).

Firm$100K two-stepEANotes
FTMO$540Allowed10% target, no Japanese support. Unmatched stability of terms
Funding Pips$529AllowedExplicitly allows copying across your own accounts. Initial profit split 60%
FintokeiSapphire tierAllowedJapanese support, 1:100. Warnings for the 3% rule accumulate across accounts (6 warnings restrict all accounts)
Funded7Two-phase (JPY)AllowedJPY-denominated, 0.1 pip spreads. Founded 1 year ago, has discretionary clauses

FundedNext's own strengths — a 15% profit split during the challenge, a 24-hour payout guarantee, up to 95% split — are still available for accounts of $25K or less. If you run multiple small EA accounts, it's still an option.

Impact on this site's ratings

  • We've added a warning banner to the FundedNext full guide and revised the banned/allowed rules and FAQ
  • We've updated FundedNext's entry in the comparison of prop firm EA rules and the 16-firm rules comparison to "EA banned $50K and above"
  • Our "buy now" rankings now prioritize FTMO / Funding Pips / Fintokei / Funded7 for EA users, and limit FundedNext to $25K and under. The evaluation for manual traders (Phase 1 target 8%, 95% split, 24-hour payouts) is unchanged

FAQ

Q. Can I no longer use an EA on FundedNext?

Not on accounts of $50,000 or more. The official help article, revised on September 9, 2026, explicitly states: "Traders with accounts of $50,000 and above must trade manually and cannot use Expert Advisors, bots, or automation tools." On MT4/MT5 accounts of $25K or less, EAs can still be used as before, with a separate usage fee.

Q. Which side is a $50K account on?

Since the wording is "$50,000 and above," $50K falls on the banned side. EAs can only be used on $6K, $15K, or $25K (for Stellar Lite: $5K, $10K, or $25K).

Q. What about an account already running an EA on $100K?

The official help article states neither an effective date nor whether it applies to existing accounts. However, since it states the rule covers "both Challenge and Funded accounts," the safe approach is to assume active accounts are affected too — stop the EA and get written confirmation from support.

Q. Can I still use an EA on cTrader or Match-Trader?

No. cTrader and Match-Trader ban automated trading regardless of account size, and that was already the rule before this change.

Q. Is it fine if I just stop the EA and switch to manual trading?

FundedNext requires "maintaining the same strategy on the Challenge and Funded account," and explicitly bans passing with an EA and then switching to manual. Even if you do switch, get confirmation from support first.

Q. Which firms let me run an EA on $100K?

This site has confirmed EAs are allowed at FTMO, Funding Pips, Fintokei, Funded7, and others. For each firm's usage fee, minimum holding time, and same-strategy rules, see the EA rules comparison article.

Written by

Hosono P | the prop firm strategist

I buy challenges with my own money and record everything through to the payout. Recorded payouts: ¥6.1M in total from Fintokei, Fundora and Funded7, plus $4,776 from The5ers (as of September 2026). Author of the semi-discretionary EA "ELDRA".

Profile and payout recordX @hosono_p

📚Related articles

🤖

I Checked 10 Prop Firms on Swapping EAs Mid-Challenge: FundingPips Requires Proof of Ownership for Self-Built EAs, Funded7 Flags You by Statistics If You Change Instruments [September 2026]

Switching from a trend-following EA to a mean-reversion EA is not a rule violation at most prop firms. Only two firms clearly ban it: FundedNext and TradingCult. Funded7, however, judges by the statistics of notional value rather than logic, so changing instruments or lot size can get you flagged. I also confirmed in the official help centers that FundingPips requires proof of ownership for fully automated self-built EAs, and explicitly bans connecting via VPN/VPS — though that ban sits in a single line inside the identity-verification section, in contrast to FundedElite, which allows VPS with prior notice.

EAs & automation9/5/2026
🤖

How to Automate Trading at a Futures Prop Firm: 3 Routes — NinjaTrader, TradingView, and APIs — and the Steps to Get a Bot Running on FTMO Futures (September 2026)

To automate trading at a futures prop firm, you can't use an MT5 EA — you need NinjaTrader's NinjaScript, a TradingView alert plus a relay service, or a given firm's API. This article covers the differences between the three approaches, which firms support which one, the exact steps the site owner took to get a NinjaTrader bot running on an FTMO Futures evaluation account, the coding pitfalls that trip people up (bar timing, time zones, forced liquidation, contract months), and the terms-of-service traps to watch for.

EAs & automation9/25/2026
🤖

The5ers Futures vs FTMO Futures: Comparing Two FX Giants' Futures Launch by Automated Trading Policy [September 2026]

The5ers and FTMO have both launched futures products. On September 22, 2026 we measured prices and rules for every size on both official sites. The decisive difference is automated trading: The5ers' FAQ states outright, "algorithmic trading is strictly forbidden, and users will be banned from our programs," while FTMO states, "there is no reason to restrict discretionary trading, algorithmic trading, or EAs." FTMO also explicitly allows VPS and VPN, which puts it ahead of the dedicated futures firms if you plan to run an EA around the clock. We line both up against the same 26 US futures props on cost per unit of loss buffer, EOD drawdown, the scope of the consistency rule, and payout caps.

EAs & automation9/22/2026
🤖

[September 2026 Edition] A Full Review of Automated-Trading Rules Across 28 Futures Prop Firms - Where Can You Actually Run a Bot, EA, or Copy Trade?

We reread the official help centers and terms of 28 US futures prop firms on September 21-22, 2026, and sorted their automated-trading policies into five tiers: fully automated OK / self-built only with conditions / semi-automated only / banned / not addressed. Bulenox has switched to banning commercial and shared bots, Lucid allows them, Apex now explicitly bans automated trading on all accounts, and Tradeify requires a live video of you activating the code yourself. Covers firms that ban VPS, how each firm defines HFT (100-300 trades/day, 10-second holds), and firms that have shut down or stopped selling accounts. We've also added the two big FX firms that entered futures - FTMO Futures (allows algos) and The5ers Futures (bans algos).

EAs & automation9/21/2026
🤖

[2026 Update] Futures Prop Automated Trading Policy Comparison | EA/Bot OK or NG at 9 Firms

A full breakdown of the EA/bot/algo trading policies at Bulenox, MyFundedFutures, Topstep, Apex, Tradeify, Lucid, TPT, Top One, and YRM Prop. Covers whether a 'set-and-forget EA' is allowed on a funded account, the 10-second rule, and copy-trading support, explained from a Japanese trader's perspective.

EAs & automation5/2/2026
🧪

[September 2026] I calculated FundedNext Futures' expected value — VPS and automated trading are explicitly allowed; go Legacy with an edge, Flex without one

Compared FundedNext Futures' 4 plans (Flex, Legacy, Rapid Pro, Rapid Daily) in a full year of Monte Carlo simulation from evaluation to payout. Confirmed prices, reset costs, max loss, and withdrawal conditions on the official help center on September 23, 2026. All plans are one-time purchases with no activation fee. At zero edge, only Flex $50K comes out positive at +$1,388/year; with an edge, Legacy pulls ahead thanks to its larger withdrawal cap. Covers how Flex and Rapid end an account after 5 payouts, plus a comparison against FTMO Futures and Topstep.

Research9/23/2026